Our journey from diapers to the potty seat!

As my son’s third birthday passed and he was STILL in diapers, I began to have panic attacks. Living in a society where people want little babies to function as full-grown adults as soon as they exit the womb, I could feel the daggers boring into my son’s diaper-clad behind and criticism-laden comments whispered behind my back as we passed by.

It was time for action.

Mind you, I had tried to train him (do you hate that word as much as I do? It makes kids sound like pets, doesn’t it?) as soon as summer break began but he just wasn’t into it. We had multiple accidents, it was too hot to stay sane even without being under the stress of potty training and we were due to travel a month later. And my husband had a very valid point – if he got trained by then and refused to put on a diaper, we’d be running high and low searching for a restroom everywhere. Not a pretty picture for a vacation, if you ask me!

So I let it go but when we got back, there were three weeks left for school to start. Panic set in again. Not just because it was another milestone in M’s life but because changes and transitions are never easy for him. He needs to be eased into new/unfavourable things but once he’s gotten the hang of it, he’s a dedicated little guy!

So I decided to make potty training as painless for him and myself as possible. Here are some things that worked for us. Hope they help you too!

  1. Commit to potty training when you are relatively stress free.

Potty training is time-consuming and you don’t want to do it if you’re short on time, believe me. Kids pick up on our emotions and with both parties stressed out, the shit is sure to hit the fan (pun absolutely intended).

2. Recognize your child’s readiness.

Is he/she able to stay dry for longer periods? Does he/she have a poop routine? Is he/she interested in bathroom details – wants to put the potty seat in place, flush the toilet and wash hands?

Try not to worry about hygiene — touching toilet seat and privates — and water wastage at this time. It is important for children to know that bathroom usage is a normal, engaging, fun and stress free activity. And that they are in control. As with any new thing, feeling secure is essential to learning bathroom usage.

3. Make use of something he/she enjoys.

We got a Paw Patrol storybook while we were traveling and it has been a Godsend during training. He’s really into the series and reading the book out loud to him helped him pee and poop at ease from day one. Make sure you have a comfy chair near the bathroom door and the room is well ventilated and you’re good to go Mama! I must have read the book five times on the first day, not counting bedtime reading!

IMG_7192

On days when I’m sick of the book, I make up silly songs with him about anything under the sun…potty seat, shower, brushing teeth, washing face.

One of his favourites is

“The potty in the potty seat goes plop plop plop, plop plop plop, plop plop plop, the potty in the potty seat goes plop plop plop, when we do potty!”

(To the tune of wheels on the bus)

And of course, Daniel Tiger’s potty song is a huge help to GET him to the bathroom when he just. doesn’t. want. to. go.

4. Remove all hurdles in the house and restrict the child’s play area.

I rolled up all the rugs, closed my bedroom door and restricted him to the living room and playroom. Why cry over a soiled rug, right? Keep old towels and wipes handy. If an accident happens, be very calm and have the child help you clean up. Like I said earlier, feeling secure is crucial to the process.

5. Keep clothes simple. Thick cotton underwear – regular cut; not briefs or boxers. In our first bout of potty training , I had put him in a pair of high-cut briefs. So silly of me, right?

IMG_7187

The second time we attempted the task, I bought these inexpensive regular undies from The Plaza at Do Talwar – Rs 270 for a packet of three – and they are perfect! Thick, cotton and comfy. Paired with a sleeveless T is what M wears at home these days. Easy to take off and put on; no stress for mama and baby.

6. Be prepared to answer all questions pertaining to privates and hearing some funny observations too. My favourite was

“Mama, it looks like water from a fire hose!”

At the end of the day, have faith and do not pressurise yourself or your child. Like with all developmental milestones, every child learns at his/her pace. Believe me, your kid will not be toting a diaper at the age of 20!

We are still a ‘work in progress’ so feel free to add any tips and tricks that worked for you during potty training in the comments!

Leave a comment